Training with a Plan

Truth be told, I’ve been a runner for 3 years now and I’ve never followed a training plan! Luckily I haven’t had any horrible race results or DNFs, but I have been at the start of a half-marathon, nervously questioning my ability to run 21.1k, while never having done a training run over 15k. This year, that’s all changed! For the past 5 weeks I have been vigorously following the official Lululemon Seawheeze TackleBox Training Program and I am LOVING it!

Every week we have 4 runs, 2 yoga sessions, 1 day of cross training, and 1 rest day. In the past I have been horrible about doing yoga and adding cross training to my running routine, but with this training plan, I have done it! The yoga practice is particularly amazing and I highly recommend you try it. It’s been just over a month since I started and I can tell you I’m feeling stronger, looking leaner, and avoiding injury while I run! Yeah for yoga!

My goal for the Seawheeze is modest – to finish 2:15 or under. My PR in a half-marathon is 2:13, so if I finish in or around there, I will be happy. In order to kick things up a notch and make sure I reach this goal, I am meeting with a running coach today! I have been feeling a bit plateaued lately and I am looking for a push to help propel me to further distances (the marathon!) and faster times. While general training plans are good, I know a personalized plan based on my goals, abilities, and fitness level will help me get to where I want to be as a runner.

I think part of the reason I never followed a training plan was because I didn’t take my running seriously enough. In my head I’m still a beginner and I still feel funny calling myself a runner sometimes. Over the past 6 months, my identity as a runner has certainly changed and been challenged, but I know now that it’s a part of me that’s here to stay. Am I scared to run a marathon? Hell yeah! Do I have TONS of running friends who are running marathons, kicking ass, and crushing their goals? Yes! 100%. And it’s those friends and allies who continue to inspire me everyday and who make me so proud to say “I’m a Runner!”

i'm a runner

2 thoughts on “Training with a Plan

Leave a Reply

