The good thing about bad runs.

This morning my goal was to run at least 10k. With just 5 weeks until Seawheeze, I need to keep my training on schedule. Unfortunately the weather had other plans for me and I did not make it past 3k. I stepped outside around 8:30am and although it didn’t feel that hot, as soon as I started running the humidity triggered my asthma and made it difficult to get into a comfortable breathing rhythm. I tried to take walk breaks, and run really slowly, but nothing was working. I just wasn’t going to run today.

I have had asthma since I was 4 years old and I’ve experienced my fair share of asthma attacks, therefore I will do everything humanly possible to avoid having one. If you’ve never had an asthma attack, just imagine being stuck in a sauna with thick hot air until it becomes impossible to breath…then times that by 10. Luckily for me, I have not had an asthma attack for many years, and I largely contribute my improved lung function to running and regular exercise! The only time I have to take my Ventolin puffer is right before I head out for a run.

photo(3)

Walking home from my run, I was actually surprised how not dejected I felt. I actually felt ok with the fact that I cut my run short and proud of myself for putting my health first before performance. In that moment, I decided I would dedicate today to being proud of what I CAN do, rather than what I can’t do. I can run 21.1k without stopping when there’s no humidity in the air, so why should I be upset that I can only run 3k when the weather isn’t right? Missing one training run isn’t going to derail all the hard work I’ve put into training for the Seawheeze Half-Marathon, and my friend Joanne says the weather in BC is actually perfect right now so I’m keeping my fingers crossed for clear skies on August 10th!

The lessons I am learning as a runner continue to amaze me. I know that two or three years ago, I would have been very upset at myself for not completing my run, but today I just came home to my (hot!) apartment, rolled out my yoga mat, and got sweaty with the Seawheeze yoga practice. I am lucky to be a runner, and I don’t ever take that for granted, even on days when I can’t run.

2 thoughts on “The good thing about bad runs.

  1. I need to take notes from you. I’m training for Seawheeze and I also struggle with Asthma. It’s made training rather tough because the air quality here in DC has been horrid. Instead of focusing on the progress I’ve made, I’ve been letting fear kick in. Like you said I’m going to shift my view and keep my fingers crossed for clear skies.

Leave a Reply

