And the training continues…

5 races down and 3 races to go. I have to admit, I’m feeling a bit burnt out these days. After Seawheeze I took a one week break from running and getting back into it has been hard. I had planned on going for a 6k yesterday morning, but I was so tired from the weekend and ended up sleeping in. I paid the price with a hot, sticky, humid night run around 8pm. I hate running at night because it takes me at least 2 hours to relax afterwards.

Despite feeling a bit run down, I also feel like I have turned a corner in my running career. Running isn’t easy anymore – it’s not a get out of bed, down a glass of water, put on shoes, and go thing anymore. It’s more of a wake up an hour early, eat a proper breakfast, check training schedule, grab gels and water, and then head out the door kind of thing. Sure, it’s more work, but it’s also more rewarding!

I have also come to understand that to become a better runner, you need to do more than just run. As I’ve said before, yoga and strength training have made a huge difference in my performance, and I plan to keep them as a regular part of my routine. My eating has become more structured as I try to take in the perfect balance of carbohydrates and protein. I’ll admit that I used to restrict my eating a bit, in an effort to keep my weight down, but thanks to all the extra training I really don’t have to do that anymore. I also wouldn’t be able to bust out a 15k on Saturday morning if I wasn’t eating properly, so it’s not really a choice anymore. I have to eat well. To help with my eating, I’ve started seeing a dietician. So far the consensus is I eat too many avocados. Don’t tell her, but I don’t plan on cutting back my avocado intake.

TO Women's Jen and Azy

I plan on taking a break after my last race of the season, Road2Hope Half-marathon in Hamilton. Not a “no running” break, but a break that includes running without a strict schedule, running just for fun, and running to maintain fitness. I’ll start my marathon training in January so I’m definitely going to maintain a good base for that. I just found out I’m invited to a wedding the night before Road2Hope so that should be fun. Definitely won’t be drinking or eating a HUGE slice of wedding cake the night before, which will be hard for me because cake is one of my favourite foods. I’m excited because I’m running Road2Hope with my sister and her boyfriend. My sister Adriana is my original running partner and it’s always so special when we get to run together.

Up next is a 35k weekend with my friend Linda. We’re going to do the Zoo Run on September 21st and the RBC Run 4 Kids 25k on September 22nd. I’ve never done back to back races like this, but we agreed we’re running this one for endurance, not speed. I’m meeting up with Linda tonight to go over our game plan for the weekend. Can’t wait!

Have you ever been in a running funk? Feeling burnt out or tired? How did you get out of it?

Leave a Reply

