35K Weekend: WE CRUSHED IT

I am still feeling a high (and a slight sense of exhaustion) from our 35k weekend! I can’t believe we did it! WE DID IT! When my friend Linda suggested we run back to back races of 10k and 25k Saturday and Sunday, I was a bit skeptical. I had never run back to back races before, let alone a 10k and then my LONGEST RUN EVER. Before Sunday, I had never run more than 21.1k in a half-marathon.ZOO RUN with Linda

The Zoo Run 10K on Saturday was awesome. Despite the cold and rainy weather, we had SO MUCH FUN. Linda and I wanted to dress up so we found leopard print tights at H&M and some fun animal accessories at Party Packagers. I think our costumes turned out pretty awesome and the tights, which are not actually running tights, were very comfortable to run in.

We didn’t plan to run either of our races on the weekend too fast, but before we knew it Linda and I were picking up the pace and holding it. At 5k I realized we could finish our race in a hour if we maintained our 6 minute/km pace. Up and down the hills, through the ran and mud, we held on to it and finished in an official time of 1:00:17 – right on time! I was SO proud of us, especially on such a challenging course. This means that a 2 hour half-marathon could be a reality next year and I am very excited about that!

The RBC Run For The Kids 25k on Sunday was definitely one of the most challenging runs I have ever done. There were hills EVERYWHERE which I was not expecting at all. Just when we thought there couldn’t possibly be another hill, we’d see one in front of us, taunting our tired legs. I am not exaggerating when I saw that there were probably 12-15 hills along the course. During this race, I started to feel fatigue and soreness in my knees settle in around 15k. I know if I had come into this race fresh, I would not have felt this way.

Linda and I stayed close the entire race and she was such a great motivator. I don’t think I could have done this race withoutΒ  her. We crossed the finish line in 2:55:03 and I immediately made a beeline for the food. I was incredibly hungry and a bit dehydrated, I think. After 2 muffins, a smoothie, and a banana, I was feeling like myself again. Not sure if I would do the RBC Run For The Kids again as it was a really boring course and there was no one around to cheer us on, but I am still glad we did it and completed our 35k weekend challenge.Β  Next up: Road 2 Hope half-marathon!

RBC Run For The Kids

2 thoughts on “35K Weekend: WE CRUSHED IT

  1. Great feat Jenna! 2 back to back runs including your longest ever! That’s determination and drive!

    Well done!!
    Sent on the TELUS Mobility network with BlackBerry

Leave a Reply

