It’s Time To Get Serious

“Now that the holidays are over, it’s time to get serious.”

Those were the words that kicked off this week’s training plan email from my coach. It’s time to get serious. I have a 15K run scheduled for Sunday, my first LSD (Long Slow Distance) in over a month. Am I REALLY signed up to run a Marathon in May?!? I was talking to my friend Christa this weekend and said “So, are we really doing Ottawa?” and simultaneously experienced a mini panic attack. I’m serious, the room spun for a minute and I felt faint.

My training has changed a lot since I started working with my new Coach Brock Skywalker of Skywalker Fitness. Using Training Peaks, I get a personalized plan emailed to me every single morning so I know exactly what to do. Strength training has become an integral part of my training routine, with 2-3 sessions per week.Β  My eating has become more focused on good fats, proteins, fruits and vegetables, and I have cut out a lot of the gluten-free “frankenfoods” that I was relying on. Both of these things have made a significant difference in the way I look and feel, but it’s also been hard work…and things haven’t even got SERIOUS yet.

I was reading this post, “Training: The Good, The Bad, and The I Want To Give Ups” written by my new running friend Rebecca the other day and it really resonated with me. I liked it because Rebecca was really honest about those moments when all you want to do is QUIT. We all experience those moments, but they aren’t the ones that make it onto Instagram or Twitter or Facebook. For many of us, our online social media profiles portray the adventures of a happy, successful runner, even though we all have our ups and downs. Rebecca’s post reminded me that there are going to be times during this marathon training that I AM going to want to quit, but I am lucky enough to have a tremendous number of awesome running friends who I know will get me through.

Asics from Black Toe Running

To kick off this marathon training journey in style, I headed down to Black Toe Running this weekend to pick up some new shoes. Being a loyal Asics girl, I settled on the BRIGHTEST, MOST COLOURFUL shoes in the store: The Asics Gel Noosa Tri 8. I don’t want to wear them outside until the snow goes away because I am scared of getting them dirty!

Well, tomorrow’s the day that things get serious and my marathon journey officially begins. I’m as ready as I’ll ever be, so LET’S DO THIS!

4 thoughts on “It’s Time To Get Serious

  1. To paraphrase an old saying, “a journey of a thousand miles starts with the first step!” Good luck on your training in 2014. I’m sure you’ll do very well !

  2. Just came across your blog and saw that we are doing 2 of the same races. I’ll be at Around the Bay (first time) and Ottawa Race Weekend (half marathon and 5k). If you haven’t done Ottawa yet it is a great race and one of my favourites – thought the only distance I have not done there is the marathon). You can see a brief review of my last Race Weekend at http://raz-family.ca/RunKristi/?p=215
    I think you will really enjoy the atmosphere at the race. Good luck with your training. I am quite a bit behind in training for Around the Bay!

Leave a Reply

