I Am A Betty! Joining Team Betty Designs in 2015.

Betty Designs 1*PLEASE DO NOT EMAIL ME FOR A BETTY DESIGNS CODE. I DO NOT HAVE ONE TO GIVE YOU. If you haven’t heard of Betty Designs, you have now! I have been following this brand and drooling over their kick-ass designs for the past year, so when they opened up applications for their ambassador program, I was all over it! I spent hours on my application, reading it over and over, and having my journalist boyfriend edit it to make sure it was just right. When I sent it in, I wasn’t sure whether I would make the team or not as I knew there would be some tough competition! When I received an email last week with the subject line “Congratulations You’re A Betty for 2015!” I was so excited!

I cannot wait to rock this beautiful and badass running and triathlon gear in 2015 at all my races. I will also have an ambassador discount code, so if anyone is interested in buying some Betty gear, let me know. What I love most about Betty Designs is that it is SO different from everything else that’s out there. Their gear is bold and feminine, while celebrating endurance and toughness in sport. In the words of Betty Designs founder Kristin Mayer: “I launched Betty Designs in the fall of 2010 in order to bring something different to women’s triathlon and cycling clothing. I wanted to marry my love for fashion + surf culture into bold, edgy designs for the endurance athlete.”

In celebration of my acceptance to Team Betty 2015, I wanted to share a few excerpts from my application to show you what being a Betty means to me and in the hopes of inspiring other women runners and triathletes who are on a journey similar to mine.

I am a Betty because being a runner and a triathlete has helped me heal the body-shame and self-consciousness that I carried as a child and teen. It has truly made me believe that I AM BEAUTIFUL and that being an athlete is beautiful. For most of my life I have struggled with my weight. From being a chubby kid to a yo-yo dieting teenager, I was never at peace with my body. As I struggled with anxiety during my early 20s, my weight ballooned to 220 pounds and I became very unhealthy. The first steps I took as a runner were also my first steps towards health and I am proud to say that I now truly love my body. There’s no better feeling than knowing you can head out for a run in a sports bra and shorts and look damn good while you do it! I love Betty Designs because it is the perfect representation of strong and sexy, allowing women to look good while crushing their goals!

Betty Designs 2

I am a Betty because I believe that the empowerment of women through sports is one of the most impactful ways that we can influence young women today to grow into strong, confident women.  Today, I know that I can do anything I set my mind to because I am achieving goals, such as training for a marathon and completing a triathlon, that weren’t even on my radar 5 years ago. There is nothing more empowering than spending the mornings in the pool or on a long run with a group of women who are working towards ambitious goals. They inspire me to be accountable and step up my own training to be the very best I can be!  I always say that if I could have felt the confidence and self-love that I do now, 5 years ago, my life would have been completely different and I don’t believe I would have suffered with anxiety and depression as much as I did. I think as active women, it is our obligation to give back to other women and girls and show them that they can be powerful and strong and can do anything they set their minds to.

I am a Betty because I am committed to an active lifestyle and have many running and triathlon goals that I plan to achieve over the next 10, 20, 30 years and beyond and I want to inspire other women along the way! The online social media community has been an invaluable source of information and motivation to me over the past few years and I have had such an amazing time sharing my training journey through Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and my blog. My online community are my training partners, even those I have never met in person, because we motivate each other, keep each other accountable, support each other through rough training patches, and most importantly, celebrate the achievement of our goals!

Please head over to the Betty Designs site and check out their awesome gear so you can swim, bike and run in style in 2015! And if you’d like a discount code, let me know!

3 thoughts on “I Am A Betty! Joining Team Betty Designs in 2015.

Leave a Reply

